Staff

RaCERS Staff

Charles Jennings, Director
Assoc. Prof. Department of Security, Fire, and Emergency Management
cjennings@jjay@cuny.edu
646-557-4638

Prof. Norman Groner, Senior Fellow and Professor Emeritus
ngroner@jjay.cuny.edu

Thomas Cavanagh, Senior Fellow
tcavanagh@jjay.cuny.edu

Arvind Karunakran, Fellow
arvindk@mit.edu

Michael Puzziferri, Senior Research Associate
mpuzziferri@christianregenhardcenter.org

Guy van Bencshoten, Senior Research Associate
gvanb@christianregenhardcenter.org

Kwan-Lamar Blount-Hill, JD, Senior Research Associate
kblount-Hill@jjay.cuny.edu

Jung Cho, Research Associate
jcho@christianregenhardcenter.org

Cindy Krumholtz, Research Associate
ckrumhol@jjay.cuny.edu

Andrea Fatica, Research Associate
afatica@jjay.cuny.edu

Landy Familia, Research Assistant
lfamilia@christianregenhardcenter.org

Affiliated Research Faculty at John Jay

Faculty with ongoing research activities or collaboration through the Center.

Robert Till, Department of Security, Fire, and Emergency Management
rtill@jjay.cuny.edu
212-484-1379

Paul Kearns, Adjunct Faculty, Department of Security, Fire, and Emergency Management
pkearns@jjay.cuny.edu

Prof. Charles Strozier, Center on Terrorism
cstrozier@jjay.cuny.edu
212-237-8432

Denise Thompson, Department of Public Management
dthompson@jjay.cuny.edu

Leigh Graham, Department of Public Management
lgraham@jjay.cuny.edu

Prof. Peter Romaniuk, Department of Government
promaniuk@jjay.cuny.edu
212-237-8189

Eric Piza, Department of Law and Police Science
epiza@jjay.cuny.edu
212-393-6376

Hung-Lung Wei, Department of Security, Fire, and Emergency Management
hwei@jjay.cuny.edu
646-781-5130

Lucia Velotti, Department of Security, Fire, and Emergency Management
lvelotti@jjay.cuny.edu

Susan Pickman, Department of Security, Fire, and Emergency Management
spickman@jjay.cuny.edu

Affiliated Research Faculty

The Center maintains affiliations with faculty from other institutions who work in this area. Affiliated faculty collaborate with RaCERS core faculty at John Jay College on research and publication, and cooperative grant-seeking.

Current Affiliated Research Faculty include:

Joe Clare, PhD Murdoch University, AUSTRALIA

Fire prevention, program evaluation, crime and public safety analysis. 

Mark D. Chubb, MPP, FIFireE

Public policy in emergency services, citizen engagement, and international management of protective services. Chubb is a former Chief officer in the US and New Zealand Fire Services, and has an extensive fire service and code background in the United States. He is also former President of the Institution of Fire Engineers United States Branch.

Len Garis, University of the Fraser Valley (BC) CANADA

Evidence-based public safety, marihuana grow-op detection and interdiction, marihuana policy, opioid abuse, fire prevention.

Roger A. Klein, MA, PhD, MB, BChir, CChem, FRSC, MIFireE, University of Bonn (ret.), Cambridge, ENGLAND

Risk analysis, workplace safety, hazardous materials, biological agents, and protective equipment. Klein, a physician, physiological chemist, is author of numerous studies on safety in emergency responders, incident command, and use of information technology.

Darryl Plecas, EdD, (Emertitus) School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, University of the Fraser Valley, British Columbia, CANADA; Member of Legislative Assembly for British Columbia

Police operations, intelligence sharing, drug interdiction, international cross-border drug trade, and marijuana grow operations. Plecas held the Chair in Research sponsored by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. He is currently a member of the British Colmubia.

Bethany Brown, Loyola University of New Orleans

Post-disaster research methodology, community resilience, social vulnerability, law, policy change and crime after disaster.

Shamik Sengupta, PhD, University of Nevada—Reno

Cognitive radio, dynamic spectrum access, wireless networking and mobile computing, network security.